top of page
  • Writer's pictureJanique Oliver

To App or not to App?

Updated: Mar 13, 2023

Editing apps have made designing fun, convenient and possible on-the-go. I would not be able to do what I do at all hours of the day, especially for social media prep and posting, without the apps I mention below.


My routine is normally quite busy and finds me at several locations in a day, so sitting down and prepping for hours is not always possible especially between meetings. I do rely on on-the-go designing, I make my own collection of templates for various accounts, themes and series so that I have them at hand and I can add photos, text and music and post them almost immediately or during a break. Below are a few of the reasons I use these apps and what I use them for.



5 Apps I use for on-the-go editing:


Videoleap

This App is perfect for video editing. I have used this for all my Instagram videos, birthday compilations, short promo animations and more. All the videos are shot on my iPhone and are completely transformed using the effects and edits available. You can save it in various different resolutions, export directly to the desired app and make your video available as a template. Download


Photoshop Express

This App is perfect for image editing, and collage making. I use this app for small image adjustments, cut-outs, and colour corrections. You can create and save your own presets to apply to more images and mix several images together to create something new and original. Download


LiveCollage

This is my most frequently used App, I use LiveCollage to plan my Instagram feed using the 12 tile collage template. I also use it to place images so the spaces are accurate for a multiple image post. Download


Unfold

This is an old favourite that I re-downloaded. Unfold allows you to edit images, and place

them in templates. The con is that the free version has very limiting features available and not many image editing options. A pro is that you can organise your designs in Story folders and share your designs directly to Instagram and Facebook. If you have access to the premium version there is an endless collection of templates and filters. You can also purchase individual collections if you do not want to pay for the + version. Download


Canva

My all-time creator bestie. Canva is, quite literally, where I live. A user-friendly online editing tool with endless templates, convenient features and it has just been getting better. I have been a Canva-user for years, and it makes creating possible without paying (on a freelancer budget) for the must-have packages like Adobe Suite, CorelDRAW etc., Yes there is a pro version (and it's beautiful) but I manage quite fine with the free version - PEAK problem solving experience. Canva also allows you access to Canva pro for free if you are a registered NP/GO. If you need to create, schedule, present and more – Canva is where you need to be (I'm slightly bias and very enthusiastic). Sign up



More to read:




Happy Creating!

Xx


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page